Welcome to ABDO College

Did you know your Internet Explorer is out of date?

To get the best possible experience using our website we recommend that you upgrade to a newer version or other web browser. A list of the most popular web browsers can be found below.

Just click on the icons to get to the download page

If you understand that your browser is inadequate but you still wish to view the site click here

 - ABDO College

Proud moments at Graduation

The Graduation and Prize Giving Ceremony is the highlight of the College’s calendar and the most recent event was especially gratifying as our founding principal, Jo Underwood, was honoured for her many years of outstanding service. The award was a surprise for Jo but is richly deserved as she always goes above and beyond in all the work she does.

The ceremony is always a joyous occasion as graduands celebrate the culmination of years of their hard work with their family and friends. Canterbury Cathedral is a sumptuous setting, a worthy backdrop for the pictures that capture those treasured memories and are now adorning walls and shelves for years to come.

There are a number of special prizes given to the students for outstanding achievements in their examinations, and as in many years, ABDO College students did well. Congratulations go to the following ophthalmic dispensing prizewinners:

  • The ABDO Prize – Awarded to Luba Choudhury, for the highest mark in units 1a and 1b of the Preliminary Qualifying Examination.
  • The Stepper Prize – Awarded to Andrew Blake, for the highest mark in unit 2 of the Preliminary Qualifying Practical Examination.
  • The Association of Optometrists Prize – Awarded to Nguyen Thi Thao Nguyen, for the highest mark in section A of the Final Qualifying Practical Examination.
  • The Rodenstock Prize – Awarded to Abbie Jones, for the highest mark in section D of the practical Final Qualifying Examination.


And congratulations to the Certificate in Contact Lens Practice prizewinner:

  • The British Contact Lens Association Prize – Awarded to Mica Smithson, for the highest aggregate mark in the theory examination.